top of page
Recycled Paper
  • Writer's pictureSana Afreen

Author Interview : Women of the Millennium —Priyanka Varma

1. What kind of reaserch do you do, and how long do you spend reasearching before beginning a book?

Answer: My genre is Urban Fiction, and I attempt to break-down the complexities between traditional and modern beliefs of relationships. Thanks to globalization and opening of economies, I have made tons of observations and have lots to write about. Also, the kind of story I attempt to analyze, aka write about, I usually look for real-life examples, and speak to the concerned peoples on a one-on-one basis. So probably three months of jotting down notes, creating a template and speaking to concerned people.

2. Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?

Answer: Inferences in books are written for a purpose, it’s to enhance and engage our readers imaginations even more. Stories are meant for escapism and fantasy, so that we can get our readers to step-out of their comfort zones and reach for the stars!

3. How do you manage between your profession as the owner of an online magazine and your zeal for writing?

Answer: There is one big responsibility that is on top of my list, its being a mom to my 8-year old daughter. She is the vortex of the volcano of my life. She is the inspiration behind all my writing and editing. So, when she is in school on weekdays, I manage my magazine and write novels. And weekends are for fun activities with her. 4. What made you decide to sit down and actually start writing?

Answer: I wrote my first short story for a school-competition when I was 6 years old, with the help of my father, and won first prize. Then I wrote my first poem, which was about the country Oman, where we lived and my father got it published in the newspaper there. So that was even more encouraging. My mother, being an avid reader, also encouraged me in understanding the language and editing my work, so that it made sense and was also laced with fantasy. So. I’d say my parents were the driving force behind my passion for writing.

5. Would you describe and fill in on some details of your book- Women of the Millennium ?

Answer: Women of the Millenium is based on four strong-willed women from four different parts of the world, and their struggle between traditional beliefs and acceptance in modern society. You can only create a balance if you have the right attitude. So, ladies, just like the lining from your uterus can become so tender to accommodate the kid burgeoning out of it, which isn’t a normal or a safe situation, the faculties of your mind can be expanded to harbour your seemingly unattainable ambitions so that you can become equal and efficient. 6. Our reader will love to know “behind-the-scenes” details that didn’t make it into your book. Can you peel back the curtain and allow us to feel like insiders?

Answer: I wanted to include some more traditions but since they were short stories, I had to tie-in alot of aspects of a woman’s life into one.

7. You have explained that “as we women love to conquer new feats in our careers, we love coming-back home to the familiarity and love of a home and family”. How much do you personally relate with this statement?

Answer: As I mentioned before, my parents were the first ones to realize and encourage my zeal for writing. So your family is the sounding board and the grounding factor, whether you come home from a tough day at work or you come home with a trophy of sorts. They help you create a healthy balance, which is much needed for good health and longevity. 8. What is your favorite cover out of all your books? Why is it your favorite?

Answer: My favorite cover is Women of The Millenium, a woman, with this frail umbrella is trying to weather out the storm, one step at a time.

9. Who is the most supportive person in your life when it comes to your writing?

Answer: My mother, as always. She sits beside me when I write and run ideas by her, so she can give me a perspective of the older generation, and also of an experienced reader of all kinds of books.

10. Any last thought for our readers? Also tell us something about your journey with BecomeShakespeare.com. How have you enjoyed your publishing journey so far ? Answer: Keep reading as it inspires you to do great things. BecomeShakespeare.com has helped me reach the world platform and really make my work known. Also, the fact that each book is assigned to a project m



45 views0 comments
bottom of page